Bakasana – Crane Pose In Yoga

Bakasana - Crane Pose In Yoga, How to do Bakasana - Crane Pose In Yoga, Benefits of Bakasana - Crane Pose In Yoga, Precautions, & a note for yoga practitioners

Bakasana (crane pose in Yoga) also at times known as the crow pose in yoga is a part of the Balancing group of asanas mentioned in the book “Asana Pranayama Mudra Bandha” by Swami Satyananda Saraswati that focuses on strengthening the body and increasing brain functionality. Bakasana is the starting point before you get in to more complex yoga poses like the head stand (Sirsasana).

How to do Bakasana – Crane Pose In Yoga

  • Relax in the standing position with the feet together.
  • Raise the arms in front of the body over the head.
  • Bend forward from the hips, transferring the weight to the right foot, and touch the toes of the right foot with both hands. Simultaneously, slowly stretch the left leg behind, raising it as high as is comfortable and bring the forehead towards the right knee.
  • Keep both legs straight.
  • To release, lower the leg and return to the upright position, keeping the arms straight as they are raised above the head. Then lower the arms and relax in the standing position.
  • Repeat the practice on the other side.

Breathing while doing Bakasana – Crane Pose In Yoga

  • Inhale while raising the arms.
  • Exhale while bending forward.
  • Breathe normally in the final position.
  • Inhale while returning to the upright position.
  • Exhale while lowering the arms.

Bakasana Benefits

  • Strengthens the back, hip and leg muscles, improves blood circulation and gives a beneficial compression to the abdominal organs. 
  • It aids concentration, balance and nervous coordination.

Precautions while doing Bakasana – Crane Pose In Yoga

  • People with back or heart problems, high blood pressure or vertigo should not practise this asana. 
  • Cautions for inverted asanas apply.

Balancing Yoga Poses Series

Bakasana – Crane Pose In Yoga is a part of the balancing yoga poses series. The balancing yoga poses help to strengthen your hamstrings, calves, quads, glutes, and abs. These also increase brain functionality. For relief of excessive tension these practices should be held for as long as comfortable. According to science, balancing is linked to a longer lifespan. Balancing asanas improve muscle coordination and posture, inducing physical and nervous balance, and stilling unconscious movement. This conserves energy and achieves grace and fluidity of motion.

List of Balancing Yoga Poses

  1. Eka Pada Pranamasana – One-Legged Prayer Pose In Yoga
  2. Natavarasana – Lord Krishna’s Pose In Yoga
  3. Garudasana – Eagle Pose In Yoga
  4. Tandavasana – Lord Shiva’s Dance In Yoga
  5. Saral Natarajasana – Preparatory Lord Shiva’s Pose In Yoga
  6. Natarajasana – Lord Shiva’s Pose In Yoga
  7. Eka Padasana – One Foot Pose In Yoga
  8. Bakasana – Crane Pose In Yoga
  9. Utthita Hasta Padangusthasana – Raised Hand To Big Toe Pose In Yoga
  10. Merudandasana – Spinal Column Pose In Yoga
  11. Niralamba Paschimottanasana – Unsupported Back Stretching Pose In Yoga
  12. Ardha Padma Padottanasana – Half Lotus Leg Stretch Pose In Yoga
  13. Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana – Half Lotus Forward Bending In Yoga
  14. Vatayanasana – Flying Horse Pose In Yoga
  15. Pada Angushthasana – Tiptoe Pose In Yoga
  16. Baka Dhyanasana – Patient Crane Pose In Yoga
  17. Eka Pada Baka Dhyanasana – One-Legged Crane Pose In Yoga
  18. Dwi Hasta Bhujasana – Two Hands And Arms Pose In Yoga
  19. Eka Hasta Bhujasana – Single Hand And Arm Pose In Yoga
  20. Hamsasana – Swan Pose In Yoga
  21. Santolanasana – Balancing pose In Yoga
  22. Vashishthasana – Sage Vashishtha’s Pose In Yoga


We hope you found this article on Bakasana – Crane Pose In Yoga. This pose is classified under intermediate yoga poses and has a multitude of benefits. Be mindful of the precautions while doing Bakasana – Crane Pose In Yoga and preferably learn to do this pose in presence of a trained expert.

Articles related to Bakasana – Crane Pose In Yoga

The following articles are recommended for you. Apart from these, do read The Basics of Yoga, and eight limbs of yoga.

Leave a Reply