Pawanmuktasana part 3, how to do Pawanmuktasana part 3, benefits of Pawanmuktasana part 3, precautions

Pawanmuktasana Part 3 – Shakti Bandha Asanas in Yoga

Pawanmuktasana Part 3 consists of a group of asanas concerned with improving the energy flow within the body and breaking down neuro-muscular knots. They are also known as Shakti Bandha Asanas or Energy Block postures in Yoga.

Pawanmuktasana is divided into three distinct groups of asanas: the anti-rheumatic group (Pawanmuktasana part 1), the digestive/abdominal group (Pawanmuktasana 2), and the shakti bandha group (Pawanmuktasana 3) to release energy blocks.

How to Do Shakti Bandha Asanas in Yoga – Pawanmuktasana Part 3

The shakti bandha series may be started straight away if good health and fitness prevail.

Right-handed people will find these asanas are easily learned with the right side leading. They should then be practiced with the left side leading to balance development of the limbs, nerves and behavior patterns.

Sequence of Pawanmuktasana Part 3 – Shakti Bandha Asanas in Yoga

  1. Rajju Karshanasana – Pulling the rope pose
  2. Gatyatmak Meru Vakrasana – Dynamic spinal twist
  3. Chakki Chalanasana – Churning the mill
  4. Nauka Sanchalanasana – Rowing the boat
  5. Kashtha Takshanasana – Chopping wood
  6. Namaskarasana – Salutation pose
  7. Vayu Nishkasana – Wind releasing pose
  8. Kauva Chalasana – Crow Walking
  9. Udarakarshanasana – Abdominal stretch pose

Benefits of Pawanmuktasana Part 3 – Shakti Bandha Asanas in Yoga

Pawanmuktasana Part 3 Yoga poses eliminate energy blockages in the spine, activate the lungs and heart, and improve endocrine function. The series is useful for those with reduced vitality and a stiff back and is especially useful for menstrual problems and toning the pelvic organs and muscles. It can be practiced after pregnancy for retoning flaccid muscles.

All three groups supplement each other, stimulating and encouraging a free flow of energy throughout the body. Practitioners are
advised to perfect each group before attempting the major asanas. Daily practice of Pawanmuktasana parts 1, 2 and 3 over a period of months brings about a profound relaxation and toning of the entire psycho-physiological structure which is necessary for the practice· of advanced techniques.


If there are any serious ailments, a therapist should be consulted. Also, take care to observe the contra-indications given for individual practices.

Pawanmuktasana Series in Yoga

Pawanmuktasana series in Yoga is one of the most important groups of yoga poses or yoga asanas that have a very profound effect on the human body and mind and is thus a most useful tool for the yogic management of various disorders and maintenance of health.

may be practiced by anyone: beginner or advanced, young or elderly. It should never be ignored and treated casually just because the practices are simple, gentle, and comfortable. The word pawan means ‘wind’, or ‘prana’; mukta means ‘release’, and asana means ‘pose’. Therefore, pawanmuktasana means a group of asanas that remove any blockages preventing the free flow of energy in the body and mind.

Pawanmuktasana is divided into three distinct groups of asanas:

  1. Pawanmuktasana Series 1: The anti-rheumatic group.
  2. Pawanmuktasana Series 2the digestive/abdominal group.
  3. Pawanmuktasana Series 3: Shakti bandha group to release energy blocks.

Leave a Reply