What is Asamprajana Samadhi? The eight limbs of Yoga

Yoga and Meditation

Asmaprajnata Samadhi is the ultimate state of awareness, the state of consciousness where nothing can be discerned except the pure self. (Read more about this in the goal of yoga). This is the ultimate goal of yoga Asmaprajnata Samadhi is the 8th limb and the final limb of yoga presented by Patanjali.

The 8 Limbs of Yoga

  1. Yama (Abstentions, moral restraints such as truthfulness, non-violence, etc.) – This deals with how you deal with others. If your goal is to remove consciousness with identification with body, you have to stop pandering to the grosser urges of the body including violence, sexual exploitation, deceit, theft etc.
  2. Niyama (Cleanliness, contentment, austerity, devotion to god) – This deals with cultivating your lifestyle. Once the more destructive urges are curtailed (Yama), consciousness can be turned inward towards refinement.
  3. Asana (Stretches, postures) – This is in preparing the body to sit for prolonged period of meditation.
  4. Pranayama (Breath control) – In this stage you are focusing on stilling the mind. You do it through fixing the mind through breath control. By regulating the breath, the mind too (focused on it), becomes regulated/quiscent.
  5. Pratyahara (Withdrawal of senses) – The process deepens and there’s a withdrawal of senses including sound, sight, taste, smell, & touch.
  6. Dharana (Concentration)
  7. Dhyana (Meditation)
  8. Samadhi (Full meditative absorption)

The last 3 limbs are essentially different degrees of concentration intensity and culminate in ultimate awareness i.e. Asmaprajnata Samadhi. Asmaprajnata samadhi is fundamentally a realization by awareness of its own nature.

Asamprajanata Samadhi

5 responses to “What is Asamprajana Samadhi? The eight limbs of Yoga”

Leave a Reply