Simhasana - Lion Pose In Yoga, how to do Simhasana - Lion Pose In Yoga, benefits of Simhasana - Lion Pose In Yoga, precautions while doing Simhasana - Lion Pose In Yoga.

Simhasana – Lion Pose In Yoga

Simhasana in yoga also known as the lion pose is a beginners group pose. It is a part of Vajrasana group of asanas and is also mentioned in the ancient Hath Yogic textbooks like “Hatha Yoga Pradipika” and “Gheranda Samhita”. It is very beneficial for the reproductive as well as digestive organs and is also reasonably easy to perform. In this article, we’ll discuss how to do Simhasana, the benefits of Simhasana, precautions, and a note for practitioners.

How to do Simhasana – Lion Pose In Yoga

  • Sit in vajrasana with the knees about 45 cm apart.
  • The toes of both feet should remain in contact with each other.
  • Lean forward and place the palms of the hands on the floor between the knees, with the fingers pointing towards the body.
  • Straighten the arms fully and arch the back.
  • Rest the body on the straight arms.
  • Tilt the head back so that there is a comfortable amount of tension in the neck.
  • Close the eyes and focus the inner gaze at the eyebrow centre, performing shambhavi mudra.
  • The eyes may also be kept open, in which case gaze at a point on the ceiling.
  • The mouth should be closed.
  • Relax the whole body and mind.

Benefits of doing Simhasana – Lion Pose In Yoga

  • In this posture there is a very definite extension of the spinal cord and the body is absolutely fixed. There is total physical stability.

Practice Note:

  • Generally, simhasana is associated with the roaring lion posture, but the scriptures give that posture as a variation of simhasana (see simhaga1janasana, the roaring lion, given in the following practice).
  • In this asana the lion is sitting quietly, waiting for something to happen. This is the mental attitude the mind has to adopt in order to enter deep meditative states.

Vajrasana Group of Asanas

Simhasana - Lion Pose In Yoga is a part of the Vajrasana Group of Asanas. The vajra or thunderbolt is said to be the weapon of Indra, king of the devas or gods, just as the mind is the king of all the senses. Vajra is also the major nadi directly connected with the genito-urinary system, which regulates the sexual energy in the body.

The following are the 16 poses in the Vajrasana group of asanas.

  1. Vajrasana – Thunderbolt Pose In Yoga
  2. Ananda Madirasana – Intoxicating Bliss Pose In Yoga
  3. Padadhirasana – Breath Balancing Pose In Yoga
  4. Bhadrasana – Gracious Pose In Yoga
  5. Simhasana – Lion Pose In Yoga
  6. Simhagarjanasana – Roaring Lion Pose In Yoga
  7. Veerasana – Hero’s Pose In Yoga
  8. Marjariasana – Cat Stretch Pose In Yoga
  9. Vyaghrasana – Tiger Pose In Yoga
  10. Shashankasana – Pose of Moon In Yoga
  11. Shashank Bhujangasana – Striking Cobra Pose
  12. Naman Pranamasana – Prostration Pose In Yoga
  13. Ashwa Sanchalasana – Equestrian Pose In Yoga
  14. Ardha Ushtrasana – Half Camel Pose In Yoga
  15. Ushtrasana – Camel Pose In Yoga
  16. Supta Vajrasana – Sleeping Thunderbolt Pose In Yoga

This is meant to help all beginners in yoga with Simhasana - Lion Pose In Yoga. We hope you found this article on Simhasana - Lion Pose In Yoga useful. It is meant to explain how to do the Simhasana - Lion Pose In Yoga easily, its benefits, and precautions.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: