Bhadrasana - Gracious Pose In Yoga, how to do Bhadrasana - Gracious Pose In Yoga, benefits of Bhadrasana - Gracious Pose In Yoga, precautions.

Bhadrasana – Gracious Pose

Bhadrasana in Yoga also known as the gracious pose is a beginners group pose mentioned in the book part of the Vajrasana group of asanas mentioned in the ancient Hath Yogic textbooks like “Hatha Yoga Pradipika” and “Gheranda Samhita” and is very beneficial for the reproductive as well as digestive organs and is also reasonably easy to perform. In this article, we’ll discuss how to do Bhadrasana, the benefits of Bhadrasana, breathing pattern while doing Bhadrasana, and a note for practitioners.

How to do Bhadrasana – Gracious Pose In Yoga

  • Sit in vajrasana
  • Separate the knees as far as possible, while keeping the toes in contact with the floor.
  • Separate the feet just enough to allow the buttocks and perineum to rest flat on the floor between the feet.
  • Try to separate the knees further, but do not strain.
  • Place the hands on the knees, palms downward.
  • When the body is comfortable, practise nasikagra drishti, concentration on the nosetip. As the eyes become tired, close them for a short time and then resume nosetip gazing.

Breathing pattern while doing Bhadrasana – Gracious Pose In Yoga 

  • Slow and rhythmic with awareness of the breath at the nose tip.
  • A few minutes daily is sufficient to loosen up the legs. If any strain is experienced, stop the asana.

Benefits of doing Bhadrasana – Gracious Pose In Yoga

  • This is predominantly a pose for spiritual aspirants as it has a stimulating influence on mooladhara chakra. It is an excellent meditation pose. The benefits are basically the same as for vajrasana.

Practice note: If necessary, a folded blanket may be placed under the buttocks. Whether a blanket is used or not, it is important that the buttocks rest firmly on the ground in order to stimulate mooladhara chakra

Vajrasana Group of Asanas

Bhadrasana - Gracious Pose is a part of the Vajrasana Group of Asanas. The vajra or thunderbolt is said to be the weapon of Indra, king of the devas or gods, just as the mind is the king of all the senses. Vajra is also the major nadi directly connected with the genito-urinary system, which regulates the sexual energy in the body.

The following are the 16 poses in the Vajrasana group of asanas.

  1. Vajrasana – Thunderbolt Pose In Yoga
  2. Ananda Madirasana – Intoxicating Bliss Pose In Yoga
  3. Padadhirasana – Breath Balancing Pose In Yoga
  4. Bhadrasana – Gracious Pose In Yoga
  5. Simhasana – Lion Pose In Yoga
  6. Simhagarjanasana – Roaring Lion Pose In Yoga
  7. Veerasana – Hero’s Pose In Yoga
  8. Marjariasana – Cat Stretch Pose In Yoga
  9. Vyaghrasana – Tiger Pose In Yoga
  10. Shashankasana – Pose of Moon In Yoga
  11. Shashank Bhujangasana – Striking Cobra Pose
  12. Naman Pranamasana – Prostration Pose In Yoga
  13. Ashwa Sanchalasana – Equestrian Pose In Yoga
  14. Ardha Ushtrasana – Half Camel Pose In Yoga
  15. Ushtrasana – Camel Pose In Yoga
  16. Supta Vajrasana – Sleeping Thunderbolt Pose In Yoga

This is meant to help all beginners in yoga with Bhadrasana - Gracious Pose. We hope you found this article on Bhadrasana - Gracious Pose useful. It is meant to explain how to do the Bhadrasana - Gracious Pose easily, its benefits, and precautions.

Leave a Reply